Skip to main content

Minister for Information and Broadcasting Fawad Chaudhry has announced that cinemas will reopen in eight cities across Pakistan, starting October 1.

Sadly, Karachi and Lahore are not among the cities included. Only Gilgit, Skardu, Muzaffarabad, Mirpur, Rawalpindi, Islamabad, Quetta, and Peshawar will be allowed to reopen cinemas according to the decision.

“Eight cities including Rawalpindi and Islamabad will be allowed to reopen cinemas starting October 1. We are hoping health authorities in Karachi and Lahore will increase vaccination drives so cinemas can reopen in their regions too,” tweeted Fawad Chaudhry.



Read More: Nabeel Qureshi wants to know when Pakistani cinemas are reopening

In a meeting chaired by Federal Minister for Planning, Development and Special initiatives Asad Umar, it was concluded that restrictions due to Covid-19 would be eased in cities that have obtained the targeted vaccination rate.

The release of a new James Bond film — No Time To Die — has breathed new life into UK cinemas and it is hoped that it will bring cinemas back to pre-covid capacity. India also announced the reopening of theatres with the release of 15 new titles.

Despite many attempts to reopen cinemas in Pakistan with strict SOPs, there is still no clear indication that new Pakistani films will release anytime soon. Especially since major cities such as Karachi and Lahore are still not allowed to reopen cinemas.