Skip to main content

hum awards

Keeping up with its tradition, 8th HUM Awards took place in Ontario on Saturday, 24th September. The star-studded event featured renowned names from the entertainment industry and was attended by an audience of over 12,000. The enthusiasm and love for Pakistan dramas was reflected in the huge crowd of fans gathered on the red carpet to greet Pakistani stars.

And fans were disappointed as many notable celebs graced the occasion with their presence including Atif Aslam, Mahira Khan, Imran Ashraf, Bilal Ashraf, Adeel Hussain, Urwa Hocane, Nomi Ansari, Iqra Aziz, Ahmed Ali Akbar, Ayeza Khan, Osman Khalid Butt, Naumaan Ijaz, Zeba Bakhtiar, Sania Saeed, Sonya Hussain, Bushra Ansari, Ahsan Khan, Reema Khan, Farhan Saeed, Hania Aamir amongst others.

hum awards, mahira khan

Mahira Khan

HUM TV has outdone itself with this year’s award show. With heartthrobs stealing the show with impressive looks (unfortunately, there weren’t many) followed by a handful of eventful and noteworthy performances, this year’s HUM Awards definitely took the ante up a notch.

Hania Aamir

The event commenced with the singing of the Pakistani and Canadian national anthem, followed by the President of HUM TV Network, Sultana Siddiqui and CEO Duraid Qureshi, speech on the network’s consistent efforts towards organizing an event of this scale internationally and how it helps improve Pakistan’s global image. Multiple celebrities hosted the evening including Ahsan Khan, Hareem Farooq, Ali Rehman Khan, Yasir Hussain, Ushna Shah, Aymen Saleem, Ahmed Ali Butt and Bilal Ashraf.


The opening act was a hilarious performance on the song Ko Ko Korina by Yasir Hussain and Ali Rehman Khan. Between the award announcements many amazing performances took place. The first performance was done by the much-loved Mere Humsafar couple, Farhan Saeed and Hania Aamir.


Farhan and Hania

This was followed by a musical act featuring Azaan Sami Khan. Later, Superstar duo Bilal Ashraf and Mahira Khan mesmerized the audience.

azaan sami khan, hum awards

Azaan Sami Khan

The biggest attraction of the evening was a performance by nation’s favourite Atif Aslam. Zara Noor Abbas and Urwa Hocane also gave a performance. In addition, Ahmed Ali Butt did a comic act to tickle audiences’ funny bones. What a treat indeed!

atif aslam, hum awards

Atif Aslam


The nominations were spread over a span of three years — from the year 2019-21 — due to Covid. While the winning streak of Parizaad, which bagged a total of nine awards, was well-deserved; we were saddened not to see some of the dramas win nothing at all. Case in point, Hum Kahan Ke Sachay Thay that did not receive the recognition it deserved. Also, we also did not see Aakhir Kab Tak taking home any awards despite the good performances by the cast in addition to Adeel Hussain and Ushna Shah’s great onscreen chemistry.

Nevertheless, congratulations to all the winners!

The winners of this year HUM Awards are:

Performance Award 2019: Ranjha Ranjha Kardi

Performance Award 2020: Ehd-e-Wafa

Performance Award–Soap: Wafa Bemol

Performance Award–Drama Serial: Yaar Na Bichray

Best New Sensation–Female: Hadiqa Kiani for Raqeeb Se

Aymen Saleem for Chupke Chupke

Best New Sensation–Male: Arslan Naseer for Chupke Chupke

Zaviyaar Naumaan Ejaz for Qissa Meherbano Ka

Momin Saqib for Raqs-e-Bismil

Best Supporting Actor–Female: Saboor Ali Ansari for Parizaad

Best Supporting Actor–Male: Adeel Afzal for Parizaad

Best Original Soundtrack: Parizaad

Most Impactful Character in a Serial: Sania Saeed for Raqeeb Se

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Ahsan Khan for Qissa Meherbano Ka
Shahzad Sheikh for Phaans
Best Writer Drama Serial: Hashim Nadeem for Parizaad
Best Director Drama Serial: Shahzad Kashmiri for Parizaad
Best On-Screen Couple–Popular: Osman Khalid Butt and Ayeza Khan for Chupke Chupke
Best Drama Serial–Popular: Parizaad
Best Actor Female–Popular: Ayeza Khan for Chupke Chupke
Best Actor Male–Popular: Ahmed Ali Akbar for Parizaad
Best On-Screen Couple–Jury: Osman Khalid Butt and Ayeza Khan for Chupke Chupke
Best Drama Serial–Jury: Parizaad
Best Actor Female–Jury: Iqra Aziz for Raqeeb Se
Best Actor Male–Jury: Ahmed Ali Akbar for Parizaad
Let us know what do you think of this year’s winners list?

One Comment

Leave a Reply