Skip to main content

In order to commemorate the efforts and success of Pakistani citizens as well as 18 foreigners, the Federal Government has issued a list of 127 people who will be honoured at the Civil Awards ceremony on March, 23.

Although the list is issued on Independence Day, August 14, it was delayed as last year no government was holding office. Prominent names being honoured include Mehwish Hayat, Reema Khan, Babra Sharif, Shabbir Jan, Iftikhar Thakur, renowned singer Attaullah Khan Esakhelvi, Sajjad Ali, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Yasir Shah, anchorperson Ishrat Fatima, Arshad Sharif and business personality Aqeel Karim Dhedhi.
Over the past few years, Mehwish has given stellar performances in TV dramas like Meray Qatil Meray Dildar, Dil Lagi and Man Jali as well as on the big screen with films like Punjab Nahi Jaungi, Load Wedding and Actor-in-Law. She has received appreciation for her performances and won the hearts of the audience globally.
Here’s the list of prominent people from the media along with the title of their award:
Tamgha-i-Imtiaz: Mehwish Hayat
Hilal-i-Imtiaz: Former Pakistani cricket team captains Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis
Sitara-i-Imtiaz: Former fast bowler Yasir Shah, singer Sajjad Ali, Attaullah Khan Esakhelvi, veteran actress Babra Sharif
Pride of Performance: Veteran actress Reema Khan, TV actor Shabbir Jan, news anchor Ishrat Fatima, TV anchor Arshad Sharif & veteran stand-up comedian Iftikhar Thakur